Tip #2. Why OOTB Roles must be customized? Featured

Rate this item
(0 votes)

SharePoint has predefined set of OOTB permissions level, such as: Full Control, Contributor, Designer, and etc. But those permissions not always provide you desired functionality – its either too wide or very narrow.

The most commons scenario of role customization you can meet is Design role in publishing sites. When you have an approval workflow and assigned specific user to “Design” role as approver you need to take into account that “Design” role has delete permissions.

So, what actually happens, sooner or later, is that your approver accidentaly deletes what he needs to approve :) It’s not what you expect from him.

The solution for this is to edit OOTB permissions for Designer roles and to prohibit “delete items” action, or create new role. And pay attention to roles you are using in production system just to avoid such cases.

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter the (*) required information where indicated. HTML code is not allowed.