Tip #43: Do you know about "Three-tier administrative model"?

Rate this item
(0 votes)

SharePoint security model is officially called as "Three-tier administrative model". Such model allows to centralize configuration and management tasks, and differentiate administrative roles to be delegated to the appropriate people.

This model consist from the following levels

  1. Tier 1: Farm-level administrators

    (Admins can manage Central Administration, but have limited actions on site levels. Farm administrators are members of the WSS_WPG and WSS_RESTRICTED_WPG groups on the computers where Central Administration is hosted)

  2. Tier 2: Shared service-level administrators
  3. Tier 3: Site collection administrators

    (site collection administrator is a user with a flag in the content database that states they can perform all tasks within a site collection, including all tasks for specific sites with a site collection. This flag can be changed by using the Site Collection Administrators page in Central Administration, by using the Site Settings page on a top-level site, or by using the site owner operation with the Stsadm command-line tool)


Consider your security planning according this model.


Leave a comment

Make sure you enter the (*) required information where indicated. HTML code is not allowed.